Miles Davis At Newport 1955-75: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4

Mosaic Singles


Miles Davis At Newport 1955-75: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4

Limited Edition

4 CDs -  $49.98


Miles Davis' 20-year association as an artist at impresario George Wein's renowned Newport Jazz Festival is celebrated on this four-CD box set, comprised of live performances by Miles' stellar band lineups in 1955, 1958, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, and 1975, in Newport, Rhode Island, New York City, Berlin, and Switzerland. The set clocks in at 296 minutes, nearly four hours of which is previously unreleased. From Miles' debut performance at NJF in 1955 (a hastily arranged jam session Thelonious Monk, Gerry Mulligan, Zoot Sims, Percy Heath and Connie Kay, that immediately led to the trumpeter's Columbia signing), to his final public performance of the '70s in 1975 (at Lincoln Center during NJF-NY, the singular "Mtume" named for Miles' favored percussionist of that decade), the box set traces the ascendance of Miles' music as the ne plus ultra of jazz. The full-length concert performances alone of Miles' famed "Kind Of Blue" Sextet in '58 (with Cannonball Adderley, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb), and second great quintet in '66 and '67 (with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) represent templates that reverberate in jazz and popular music to this day. His final appearance at the original festival in '69 features Chick Coream Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette. The 1971 Swiss concert includes Gary Bartz, Keith Jarrett, Michael Henderson, Ndugu Leon Chancler, Don Alias and Mtume. The 1973 Paris show iincludes Dave Miebman, Pete Cosey, Reggie Lucas, Michael Henderson, Al Foster and Mtume.
Disc: 1
Newport 1955
1. Spoken Introductions by Duke Ellington and Gerry Mulligan
2. Hackensack 3. 'Round Midnight (
4. Now's The Time
Newport 1958
5. Spoken Introduction by Willis Conover
6. Ah-Leu-Cha
7. Straight, No Chaser
8. Fran-Dance
9. Two Bass Hit
10. Bye Bye Blackbird
11. The Theme

Disc: 2
Newport 1966
1. Gingerbread Boy
2. All Blues
3. Stella By Starlight
4. R.J.
5. Seven Steps To Heaven
6. The Theme / Closing Announcement by Leonard Feather
Newport 1967
7. Spoken Introduction by Del Shields
8. Gingerbread Boy
9. Footprints
10. 'Round Midnight
11. So What
12. The Theme
13. Closing Announcement by Del Shields

Disc: 3
Newport 1969
1. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
2. Sanctuary
3. It's About That Time / The Theme
Berlin 1973
4. Spoken introduction / Band warming up
5. Turnaroundphrase
6. Tune In 5
7. Ife
8. Untitled Original
9. Tune In 5
New York City 1975
10. Mtume

Disc: 4
Dietekon, Switzerland 1971
1. Directions
2. What I Say
3. Sanctuary
4. It's About That Time
5. Bitches Brew
6. Funky Tonk
7. Sanctuary

Read More About MilesDavis:
Track Listing, Personnel & Recording Dates


Click here to write a review

Be the first to write a review on this. Click here

Miles Davis At Newport 1955-75: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4
Miles Davis At Newport 1955-75: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4
Limited Edition: Columbia copies
4 CDs - $49.98

Customer Reviews:

Read More Reviews »

More Info


Special Sales
Last Chance Offerings
Noteworthy Jazz News